Lockheed Martin Vice President Valerie Browning Appointed to AIP Board of Directors

AIP is pleased to announce physicist Valerie Browning as the newest member of the Institute’s Board of Directors. Her appointment is effective March 24. Browning is the Vice President for Research and Technology in the Corporate Technology Office at Lockheed Martin, where she leads transformational research and design projects that bring together industry, academia, and government organizations.

Anna Lee Appointed AIP Foundation Executive Director

AIP is pleased to announce Anna Lee as the new executive director of AIP Foundation. Starting February 1, Lee will lead the foundation as it magnifies philanthropic support of the Institute. Her appointment as executive director will bring valuable leadership and strategic direction to the foundation as it continues to share the history of the physical sciences, motivate and encourage a new generation of scientists, attract and inspire new partners, and support AIP priorities through critical fundraising opportunities.

American Institute of Physics Selects Kevin Watkins as Chief Federation Officer

The American Institute of Physics is pleased to announce the appointment of Kevin Watkins as AIP’s first chief federation officer. He will be joining the institute in September to establish AIP’s new federation office that will focus on enabling the goal of being a vibrant federation that advances the success of its 10 Member Societies whose membership in turn comprises 116,000 members of the physical sciences community.

AIP CEO, Others Sign Pledge to Reaffirm Inclusion, Diversity Efforts in Workplace

The executive leadership of the American Institute of Physics and seven of its Member Societies have joined more than 1,500 other leaders in signing the CEO Action for Diversity and Inclusion pledge, recommitting their organizations to advance diversity and inclusion in the workplace. The pledge, currently signed by CEOs across 85 industries, was created by CEO Action for Racial Equality, a fellowship to advance racial equity through public policy.

Robert Lupton, David Weinberg Awarded 2021 Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics

The American Institute of Physics, the American Astronomical Society, and the Heineman Foundation proudly announce Robert Lupton and David Weinberg as recipients of the 2021 Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics. The award is given annually to recognize outstanding mid-career work in any area of astrophysics.

AIP Selects Taharee Jackson as First Diversity, Equity, and Belonging Officer

The American Institute of Physics welcomes Taharee Jackson as its first AIP Diversity, Equity, and Belonging Officer. Jackson is expected to begin her new role on Oct. 5. Jackson’s appointment is a direct result of AIP’s commitment to emphasizing diversity and inclusion in the federation and throughout the physics and physical sciences community. She was selected from an initial pool of more than 60 candidates and is looking forward to leading AIP’s diversity efforts.

AIP Celebrates International Day of Light

Saturday, May 16, is a day to see how light influences our lives with the International Day of Light. The celebration is a global initiative that provides an annual focal point for the continued appreciation of light and the role it plays in science, the economy, culture and art, education, and sustainable development, and in fields as diverse as medicine, communications and energy.

Upcoming Trimble Lecture Highlights Hubble’s 30th with Jennifer Wiseman of NASA on April 29

The American Institute of Physics is delighted to host a virtual lecture by Hubble Space Telescope senior project scientist Jennifer Wiseman in an upcoming Lyne Starling Trimble Science Heritage public lecture to celebrate Hubble’s 30th anniversary. The lecture series is hosted by AIP and highlights experts who study the role of science and technology throughout human history and modern society. “The Hubble Space Telescope: 30 Years of Discovery and Awe” will be hosted virtually, April 29 at 3:30 p.m. EDT.