World’s largest computing society announces 2019 distinguished members

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 62 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field. All 2019 inductees are longstanding ACM members and were selected by their peers for a range of accomplishments that have contributed to technologies that underpin how we live, work and play.

“Each year it is our honor to select a new class of Distinguished Members,” explains ACM President Cherri M. Pancake. “Our overarching goal is to build a community wherein computing professionals can grow professionally and, in turn, contribute to the field and the broader society. We are delighted to recognize these individuals for their contributions to computing, and we hope that the careers of the 2019 ACM Distinguished Members will continue to prosper through their participation with ACM.”

The 2019 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions around the world, and hail from Canada, China, Germany, Qatar, Singapore, Taiwan, the United Kingdom and the United States. These innovators have made contributions in a wide range of technical areas including artificial intelligence, human-computer interaction, computer engineering, computer science education, cybersecurity, graphics, and networking.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. To be nominated, a candidate must have at least 15 years of professional experience in the computing field, 5 years of continuous professional ACM membership, and have achieved a significant level of accomplishment, or made a significant impact in the field of computing, computer science and/or information technology. In addition, it is expected that a Distinguished Member serves as a mentor and role model, guiding technical career development and contributing to the field beyond the norm.


For Outstanding Educational Contributions to Computing:

Valerie B. Barr

Mount Holyoke College

Kim B. Bruce

Pomona College

Thomas Cortina

Carnegie Mellon University

Andrea Danyluk

Williams College

Manuel A. Pérez Quiñones

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Mehran Sahami

Stanford University

Amber Settle

DePaul University

Charles C. Weems Jr.

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Jodi L. Tims

Northeastern University

For Outstanding Engineering Contributions to Computing:

Mark Berman

Raytheon BBN Technologies

Weidong Cui

Microsoft Research

Martin Reddy


For Outstanding Scientific Contributions to Computing:

Mary Baker

HP Inc.

Andrew Begel

Microsoft Research

Eric Bodden

Heinz Nixdorf Institut at Paderborn University & Fraunhofer IEM

Susanne Boll

University of Oldenburg

Oliver Brdiczka

Adobe Inc.

Yuriy Brun

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Ali R. Butt

Virginia Tech

Haibo Chen

Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Adam Chlipala

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Landon Cox

Microsoft Research

Roberto Di Pietro

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Gavin Doherty

Trinity College Dublin

Guofei Gu

Texas A&M University

Minyi Guo

Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Zhu Han

University of Houston

Tsung-Yi Ho

National Tsing Hua University

Steven Chu Hong Hoi

Salesforce Research Asia & Singapore Management University

Jeffrey A. Johnson

University of San Francisco

Yan Huang

University of North Texas

Karrie G. Karahalios

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Florian Kerschbaum

University of Waterloo

Irwin Kuo-Chin King

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Benjamin C. Lee

Duke University

Dongwon Lee

Pennsylvania State University

Mo Li

Nanyang Technological University

Alex X. Liu

Ant Financial Services Group

David Lo

Singapore Management University

Pinyan Lu

Shanghai University of Finance and Economics

Shan Lu

University of Chicago

Mahesh Marina

University of Edinburgh

Kamesh Munagala

Duke University

Mark W. Newman

University of Michigan

Fatma Özcan

IBM Research-Almaden

Dario Pompili

Rutgers University

Konstantinos Psounis

University of Southern California

Chandan K. Reddy

Virginia Tech

Heng Tao Shen

University of Electronic Science and
Technology of China

Manu Sridharan

University of California, Riverside

Meikang Qiu

Harrisburg University

Shourya Roy

American Express AI Labs

Luo Si

Alibaba Group Inc.

Hari Sundaram

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Jian Tang

Syracuse University

Vincent Shin-Mu Tseng

National Chiao Tung University

Xing Xie

Microsoft Research Asia

Jun Yang

Duke University

Stephanie D. Teasley

University of Michigan

Joerg Widmer

IMDEA Networks Institute

Li Xiong

Emory University

Haitao Zheng

University of Chicago


About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. To be selected as an ACM Fellow, a candidate’s accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. ACM Distinguished Membership recognizes up to 10% of ACM’s top members. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. ACM Senior Member status recognizes the top 25% of ACM Professional Members. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

This part of information is sourced from

Jim Ormond

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *