Applications Open for I-SMaT: the International Collaborative Program in Sustainable and Materials and Technology for Industries

ISMaT, or the “International Collaborative Program in Sustainable and Materials and Technology for Industries”, is a brand-new international Ph.D. program co-established in 2022 by the Faculty of Science, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand, and Nagoya University, Japan.

Cost-Effective, Easily Manufactured Ventilators for COVID-19 Patients

Particle physicists are at the forefront for pioneering low-cost, mass-producible ventilators to help address the worldwide shortage. An international, interdisciplinary team spearheaded one such effort and presents the design in Physics of Fluids. The ventilator consists of a gas inlet valve and a gas outlet valve, with controls and alarms to ensure proper monitoring and customizability from patient to patient. The design is built from readily available parts and is presented under an open license.

Astrophysicist Catherine Cesarsky Selected as 2020 Tate Award for International Leadership in Physics Winner

The American Institute of Physics announced the winner of the 2020 John Torrence Tate Award for International Leadership in Physics to French astrophysicist Catherine Cesarsky. Named after the celebrated American physicist John Torrence Tate, the Tate medal was established in 1959 and is awarded by AIP every two years to non-U.S. citizens for their leadership, research contributions, and service to the international physics community. Previous winners include Fabiola Gianotti, Roald Sagdeev, and Jean Trân Thanh Vân.

International Linked Clinical Trials strategic funding for Parkinson’s now worth US$6.75 million

LONDON (Sept. 21, 2020) — The Cure Parkinson’s Trust (CPT) and Van Andel Institute (VAI) are delighted to welcome a third strategic funding partner, The John Black Charitable Foundation (JBCF), to the International Linked Clinical Trials (iLCT) program. Together, these three partners have pledged a total of US$6.75 million to Parkinson’s research over three years.